North Carolina School Counselor Association




NCSCA Professional Recognition Awards Guide

The North Carolina School Counselor Association would like to recognize the outstanding and exemplary works of dedicated professionals who work as school counselors, administrators, counselor educators and advocates of the school counseling profession. The NCSCA Board of Directors also recognizes outstanding individuals via the The Ruth McSwain award. Each year at the annual conference, awards will be given to those nominees who best exhibit the implementation of the ASCA National model and show evidence of a comprehensive school counseling program, which involves stakeholders within the school, community and the profession. The awards ceremony is held during the opening session of each year’s annual conference. This year’s conference is scheduled for November 7-9, 2018 at the Joseph S. Koury Convention Center, Greensboro, North Carolina.

Directions for the Nominator


Directions for the Nominee

The following items should be submitted with the ASCA Online Portal

  •   Nomination Form/Letter of Nomination Supporting Nominee
  •   Professional Quality Photograph
  •   Vita or Resume
  •   Three reference letters to include a nominee’s supervisor, a colleague and another letter from the community, parents,  students, etc.
  •   Additional documentation, evidence of programs, artifacts and other supplementary data may also be submitted

  • Application packets must be submitted by October 1, 2018
  • NOTE: NCSCA is not required to grant an award if there are fewer than three (3) nominees in any category. All applications must be complete. Incomplete applications will not be considered.


Award Winners will be notified by November 1, 2018.

Awards will be presented at the NCSCA Fall Conference in Greensboro, NC, during the opening session on Thursday, November 8, 2017.  For more information, contact Rebecca Atkins, Awards Chair, at   

NCSCA is a state chapter of the American School Counselor Association (

Copyright © North Carolina School Counselor Association.  All Rights Reserved.
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software