Standing Behind & Supporting Our Members Since 1960


To better serve our members, NCSCA has realigned our regions to match the eight educational regions of the North Carolina Department of Instruction (NCDPI). In 2008, the membership voted to add elected vice presidents for each region.

Regional vice presidents establish strong leadership at the regional level within their particular region and maintain a regional presence for NCSCA.

  • Coordinates regional activities and meetings to serve school counselors and the profession of school counseling.

  • Appoints chairpersons and form comittees to support the mission and strategic plan of NCSCA.

  • Identifies professional development needs of school counselors.

  • Promotes regional representation at Legislative Day and conference.

  • Shall make contacts with each LEA in their region.

  • Shall communicate information related to school counseling and NCSCA.

  • Shall support school counselors with specific needs in their region.

Northeast Region/District 1

VP: Dr. Jennifer Burruss

Beaufort, Bertie, Camden, Chowan, Currituck, Dare, Gates, Halifax, Hertford, Hyde, Martin, Northampton, Pasquotank, Perquimans, Pitt, Roanoke Rapids, Tyrrell, Washington, Weldon

Southeast Region/District 2

VP: Deanna Ford   

Brunswick, Carteret, Craven, Duplin, Greene,

Jones, Lenoir, New Hanover, Onslow, Pamlico, Pender, Wayne

North Central Region/District 3

VP: Nancy Snyder

Chapel Hill-Carrboro, Chatham, Durham, Edgecombe, Franklin, Granville, Harnett, Johnston, Lee, Nash, Orange, Person, Vance, Wake,

Warren, Wilson

Sandhill Region/ District 4

VP: Vacant

Bladen, Columbus, Cumberland, Hoke,

Montgomery, Moore, Richmond, Robeson, Sampson, Scotland, Whiteville

Piedmont Triad Region/District 5

VP: Anna Whitley

Alamance, Asheboro, Caswell, Davidson, Davie, Elkin, Forsyth, Guilford, Lexington, Mount Airy, Randolph, Rockingham, Stokes, Thomasville,

Surry, Yadkin

Southwest Region/ District 6

VP: Dr. Taryne Mingo

Anson, Cabarrus, Cleveland, Gaston, Iredell, Kannapolis, Lincoln, Mecklenburg, Mooresville, Rowan, Stanly, Union

Northwest Region/District 7

VP: Lillian Modak

Alexander, Alleghany, Ashe, Avery, Burke, Caldwell, Catawba, Hickory, McDowell, Mitchell, Newton-Canover, Watauga, Wilkes, Yancey

Western Region/ District 8

VP: Buffy Weathington

Asheville, Buncombe, Cherokee, Clay, Graham, Haywood, Henderson, Jackson, Macon, Madison, Polk, Rutherford, Swain, Transylvania

The mission of the North Carolina School Counselor Association is to promote excellence for school counselors and the communities they serve through advocacy, leadership, professional development, and evidence-based best practices which promote equity and access for all.

The North Carolina School Counselor Association is the premier organization that supports all members of the school counseling community by creating a network of professionals, empowering their practice, and supporting their advocacy work for over 1.6 million+ students in North Carolina.

North Carolina School Counselor Association (NCSCA)  |  9650 Strickland Rd. Suite 103-125 |  Raleigh, NC 27615 

For NCSCA questions, please email Andrea Wallace, Association Manager


NCSCA is a state division of the American School Counselor Association.

North Carolina School Counselor Association (NCSCA) has been approved by NBCC as an Approved Continuing Education Provider, ACEP No. 6314.
Programs that do not qualify for credit are clearly identified. NCSCA is solely responsible for all aspects of the programs.

Copyright © North Carolina School Counselor Association. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software